Mountain Huts Preservation Society Inc

Mountain Huts Preservation Society Inc.

Fincham Hut – West Coast

Fincham Hut is a spacious, single room hut clad in corrugated iron and complete with power, helipad and long-drop toilet.  Once accessed by a 4WD track, Fincham Hut is nestled on the banks of the Franklin River, and these days visited primarily by rafters – or alternatively reached after an arduous multi-day trek through unforgiving, almost impenetrable scrub on a track that for the most part has been swallowed up and reclaimed by the surrounding rain forest.  It is a destination for only the most experienced, well-equipped hikers.  The Hut is maintained by the Hydro Electric Commission and it is likely named after James Fincham, a London-born man who arrived in Tasmania in 1872 and died in 1914.  He was, until his retirement in 1911, Engineer-in-Chief of Railways and Public Works in Tasmania.

Scroll to Top